Telehealth Cart Help > User Help > General Information > Add to a Case > Add Video Otoscope Images

Capture Otoscope Images

Step 1:       Turn on the video otoscope.  To ensure proper functioning of the lamp, note that the otoscope should not be turned off and then on again in quick succession; wait at least 60 seconds before turning it on again.

Step 2:       From the Add to Case screen, click on the Video Otoscope button.  The Video Picture screen opens, with a live video feed from the otoscope.

 

If the video appears frozen, click on the Live button to go back to live video mode.

Optional Step:  If the otoscope installed on the cart requires it, perform a white balance check and use the focus tool.  For details on these tasks, see the Otoscope Adjustment Tasks section below or the otoscope user manual.

Step 3:       Attach a clean speculum (2.5 mm for children, 4.0 mm for adults) and position the patient and yourself to easily view the image on the screen and have easy access to one of the image capture triggers (detailed below).

Step 4:       Position the scope in the patient’s ear for capturing images.  Make sure that the otoscope is positioned with the “up” position orientated to the top of the patient’s head, regardless of whether the patient is sitting up or laying down.

Step 5:       Use one of the three options for capturing images:

Press the hand switch

Press the foot switch

Click or touch the Take Picture button on the screen

Take multiple images and decide which images to save and add to a case after you are finished capturing.

Step 6:       When finished, turn off the otoscope to extend the life of the lamp.  Note that the otoscope should not be turned off and then on again in quick succession; wait at least 60 seconds before turning it on again.

Each image taken appears as a thumbnail on the left side.  Clicking on a thumbnail opens the image in the preview pane with a flashing red line around it, designating it as an image and not a live video feed.  Click on the thumbnail, and a green check mark is added to the Save box next to it.  Click it again to deselect the image if the image should not be saved.  Click on the Live button to return to a live video feed.